Author Interview, Claudia D. Christian

Author Interview #16, with dark/literary/erotic writer, Claudia D. Christian!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Contradiction, underdog, careful, observant, odd.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

Blurb for Love Unfortunate:

A murder of crows flew by, startling Liana out of miserable turmoil. Their raucous chatter warned of what her raw core already knew. Liana’s moans ceased abruptly and the tears ran dry. She eyed the lone window.
Terrible longing stained her vivid green irises. Night was coming.
So was Laurent.

Excerpt:

Night descended and the air turned cold. Sounds of castle life ceased, leaving Liana completely alone. Sprawled on her back, legs open with wanton need, she felt her world shrink. It became a void where sadness, regret, and misery retreated.

Soon.

Liana’s limbs trembled with manic anticipation. She wondered at what familiar torments Laurent would devise for their mutual pleasure.

Restraints? Asphyxiation? Gentle, normal lovemaking?

Liana didn’t have to wonder for long. First came the scrape of metal. Inanimate groans spiced the air before footsteps whispered across cold stone.

Share an excerpt of your favorite author’s work (10-100 words):

This comes from Remittance Girl’s “The Waiting Room.”

He began to tell Marcus the story of Sophie. Each detail was palpable to him; he saw it, smelled it, felt it still. Remembering made his cock ache and he fought the urge to shift in his seat.

“I saw her first at the temples, you know, in Angkor. She was oblivious to everything but the architecture. In fact it was her intense focus that caught my eye; she could have been utterly alone. She stood there, thin and willowy, in an awful, shabby cotton dress; it was far too big for her. She was so beautiful, Marcus, you can’t imagine.”

Comment on the writing versus publication process, in your experience:

For me the writing part is quite easy. I write to please myself. When it’s time to publish, however, I’m assaulted with self-doubt. Is the story good enough? Will anyone like it but me? Soon enough I loathe the story I just loved. However, I take some time and those feelings fade to a noticeable hum. It’s the hum that makes me eye each word with critical intent. It lets me cut without remorse. By the time I’m done, the hum almost disappears.

What is your definition of “good writing”?

I think “good writing” is writing that moves me. There are many well-written stories out there that are consumed and then forgotten. It’s those stories that stir the questions about in my head that constitute good writing. If a story causes me to question my beliefs and/or my way of life, if it stays with me days afterwards, then it changed a piece of me. Good writing should do that.

Please share your #1 tip for writers:

When your writing makes you comfortable — push further.

Your websites/blogs/etc:

Author Website — http://claudiadchristian.com
Love Unfortunate — http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0036B8YNA

Much thanks to Ms. Christian for the chat!

About Jess C Scott

Writer/Blogger/Activist @ www.jessINK.com View all posts by Jess C Scott

6 responses to “Author Interview, Claudia D. Christian

You must be logged in to post a comment.

