Author Interview, Danielle Bienvenu

Author Interview #43, with the multi-talented Author, Photographer, Singer, French teacher: Danielle Bienvenu!

* * * * *

danielle bienvenu

Hi Danielle! Please describe yourself in 5 words:

It isn’t as easy to describe myself as I thought so I enlisted the help of others. The consensus is I’m spontaneous, determined, a fire ball, quirky, and passionate about life.

Great (“fire ball” always reminds me of the song of the same title by Deep Purple!). Please share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

sarah_secret

From my latest book, “Sarah’s Secret”:

Elijah stilled himself. Once he had been eighteen years old. He was just a kid full of ideas and dreams, dreams of a peaceful world. Ideas of protecting home and making everyone he ever cared about proud. And they would have been proud if they were still alive. Elijah swallowed hard as the memory of home penetrated his senses. They were bittersweet memories of his father playing catch with him. His mother was gone, killed by a drunk driver when she and his father were bringing Elijah’s birthday cake home. Somehow his father managed to survive. Elijah was seven years old. Guilt engulfed him just for a moment and just like boot camp, Elijah pushed himself through the pain and focused on his dad. He’d been bound to a wheelchair as a result of the accident. There wasn’t happiness and smiles that day, no mother to share the birthday cake with. There was just emptiness. It didn’t matter how many years passed since the day he lost his mother. Elijah could still see the ache in his father’s eyes. He’d never forget the look of desperation, not as long as he lived. It was something Elijah grew accustomed to seeing in Afghanistan. Soldiers fighting for freedom, fighting to protect the country they honored and the family they loved while being racked with desperation to return to them. It was a desperation to survive. Everyone in the desert had something to live for. The terrorists had their dreams for murdering innocent lives in the name of their god. They were determined to bring down the “infidel.” Elijah’s buddies had their dreams to get the job done and return home to their wives and kids. But Elijah had no one to go home to. And so he fought.

Share an excerpt of your favorite author’s work (10-100 words):

I have many favorites but I’ll quote from one of my favorite books of all time — Somewhere in Time by Richard Matheson:

My body and mind seemed paralyzed. I could not believe it. I could not have moved or spoken if my life depended on it. Only one thought penetrated. Why was she, too, standing mutely staring at me? Then abruptly, unexpectedly, she spoke, the sound of her voice making me start.

‘Is it you?’ she asked.

Had some enchantment totally beyond my visions taken place so that she knew about me?

And Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt:

“Everywhere around us, things is moving and growing and changing. You, for instance. A child now, but someday a woman. And after that, moving on to make room for the new children.”

Winnie blinked, and all at once her mind was drowned with understanding of what he was saying. For she-yes, even she, would go out of the world willy-nilly someday. Just go out, like the flame of a candle, and no use protesting. It was a certainty. She would try very hard not to think of it, but sometimes, as now, it would be forced upon her. She raged against it, helpless and insulted, and blurted at last, “I don’t want to die.”

Comment on the writing versus publication process, in your experience:

The writing process is so much easier to me than the publication process. I wish writing didn’t contain four jobs: writing, editing, publishing and publicist but it does. I’d be much happier leaving the dirty work to someone else so I could focus on simply writing. Writing is the best part.

Can’t say I disagree ;)! What is your definition of “good writing”?

In my opinion there is no good writing. If it is good it’s bland. I want to be captivated when I read and I want to captivate others with my writing. If my pulse isn’t quickening in a thriller or I’m not riveted by what the lead will say or do next it’s no good. That being said I am a much harsher judge on my own work than anyone else’s.

Agree on the last point too :) Please share your #1 tip for writers:

Do you feel compelled to write? Do you skip meals or sleep to write? If so, then you are a born writer. You won’t feel completely fulfilled until you write. Don’t let anything keep your from going after your dream. If you want to write, then write.

Please let us know your websites/blogs/etc:

My official site: www.daniellebienvenu.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Danielle-Nicole-Bienvenu-Dove-Photography/113907332022868

My e-books are found on Smashwords.com

My paperbacks can be found online at Barnes & Noble, Books-A-Million, Borders, Amazon and international vendors.

* * * * *

Much thanks to Danielle for stopping by — be sure to check out her website for more info about her and the many artistic projects she is up to!

About Jess C Scott

Author/Artist/Non-Conformist @ www.jessINK.com View all posts by Jess C Scott

One response to “Author Interview, Danielle Bienvenu

You must be logged in to post a comment.

