Poet Interview, Frank Mundo

Interview #51, with poet, Frank Mundo!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

frank_mundo

Student of literature and art.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

frank_burbury

REMORSE by Frank Mundo

I must lay this to rest, must cast it aside,
Where memories map and nightmares collide
Like basic units of matter and mass.
I must embrace the lie: that this too shall pass
In time with patience if virtue is true,
And forget all I think (or thought) that I knew.
I must plough forward, despite all desire
And accept what faith and the future inspire
Without ever, of course, accepting the blame
For all that I did that earned me the name.

Share an excerpt of your favorite poet’s work (10-100 words):

* Note from Jess: I’m unable to accurately format this poem (in terms of spacing, etc). The poem’s original formatting can be viewed here.

The Triple Fool by John Donne

I am two fools, I know,
For loving, and for saying so
In whining poetry ;
But where’s that wise man, that would not be I,
If she would not deny ?
Then as th’ earth’s inward narrow crooked lanes
Do purge sea water’s fretful salt away,
I thought, if I could draw my pains
Through rhyme’s vexation, I should them allay.
Grief brought to numbers cannot be so fierce,
For he tames it, that fetters it in verse.

But when I have done so,
Some man, his art and voice to show,
Doth set and sing my pain ;
And, by delighting many, frees again
Grief, which verse did restrain.
To love and grief tribute of verse belongs,
But not of such as pleases when ’tis read.
Both are increasèd by such songs,
For both their triumphs so are published,
And I, which was two fools, do so grow three.
Who are a little wise, the best fools be.

Did reading a poem first spark the desire to write poetry, or was it an experience?:

After reading and studying for many years, I decided to give it a try myself. But it was reading Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales that inspired me to write my book The Brubury Tales.

I did link the two together ;)! What goal do you seek through your poetry?

To take a big fat stick and challenge our history, traditions, values, beliefs, mores, standards, stereotypes and anything else we take for granted or as gospel.

Most excellent (I like to combat the ‘sheeple’ mentality too). Please share your #1 tip for poets/writers:

Passion is not enough. Never stop studying your craft.

High standards. Your websites/blogs/etc:

Frank Mundo Books on Amazon.com

Twitter: @frankemundo

Facebook: FrankMundoBooks

You Tube: FrankMundoPoet

* * * * *

Much thanks to Frank for stopping by!

Frank’s Bio:

For 14 years, FRANK MUNDO worked as a graveyard-shift security guard in Los Angeles, a job which allowed him to write and publish hundreds of stories, poems, essays, book reviews and author interviews. A book reviewer for the San Diego Union-Tribune, The New York Journal of Books, LA Books Examiner, Westside Today, Karisma Magazine (UCLA) and The Swamp, Frank earned a BA in English from UCLA, where he completed the Creative Writing Program.

His first book of poetry, The Brubury Tales, won the Poet Laureate Award Nomination from UCLA and CAL, Reader Views 2011 Reviewers Choice for Poetry Book of the Year, the 2011 Bookhitch Award for Most Innovative Poetry Book of the Year, a Reason to Rhyme Award from Byline Magazine, was selected for UCLA’s Words poetry exhibit at Powell Library, and selections were published by Fusion Literary Magazine (Indiana University) and The Swamp. Born in Maryland, Frank grew up in Los Angeles where he currently lives with his wife, Nancy, and their dogs, Jax and Rusty.

About Jess C Scott

Author/Artist/Non-Conformist @ www.jessINK.com View all posts by Jess C Scott

2 responses to “Poet Interview, Frank Mundo

You must be logged in to post a comment.

