Poet Interview, Lisa Taylor

Interview #54, with poet, Lisa Taylor!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

lisa_pic

Intelligent, imaginative, perceptive, reclusive, open-minded.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

lisa_book

It wasn’t revenge
It was only pretend.
The gun at my temple,
True, it’s the end,
But just of the story
Just of the game.
I’ll pull the trigger
But I’m not to blame.

(Last stanza of “I’m Not to Blame” by Lisa M. Taylor, part of Book of Dreams and Nightmares)

Share an excerpt of your favorite poet’s work:

Astrophobos by H.P. Lovecraft

In the Midnight heaven’s burning

Through the ethereal deeps afar
Once I watch’d with restless yearning
An alluring aureate star;
Ev’ry eve aloft returning
Gleaming nigh the Arctic Car.

Mystic waves of beauty blended
With the gorgeous golden rays
Phantasies of bliss descended
In a myrrh’d Elysian haze.
In the lyre-born chords extended
Harmonies of Lydian lays.

And (thought I) lies scenes of pleasure,
Where the free and blessed dwell,
And each moment bears a treasure,
Freighted with the lotos-spell,
And there floats a liquid measure
From the lute of Israfel.

There (I told myself) were shining
Worlds of happiness unknown,
Peace and Innocence entwining
By the Crowned Virtue’s throne;
Men of light, their thoughts refining
Purer, fairer, than my own.

Thus I mus’d when o’er the vision
Crept a red delirious change;
Hope dissolving to derision,
Beauty to distortion strange;
Hymnic chords in weird collision,
Spectral sights in endless range….
Crimson burn’d the star of madness
As behind the beams I peer’d;
All was woe that seem’d but gladness
Ere my gaze with Truth was sear’d;
Cacodaemons, mir’d with madness,
Through the fever’d flick’ring leer’d….
Now I know the fiendish fable
The the golden glitter bore;
Now I shun the spangled sable
That I watch’d and lov’d before;
But the horror, set and stable,
Haunts my soul forevermore!

Did reading a poem first spark the desire to write poetry, or was it an experience?:

I guess it was reading a poem, though I don’t actually remember which poem. I was nine years old and my family had just gotten internet. I was on the computer browsing. I don’t even remember what I was searching for, but somehow I came across www.poetry.com. I read that people could submit poetry and if they won the contest could win money. Well, I got all excited that I could make a fortune (don’t we all miss the days when a hundred dollars was a “fortune?”) right there off the internet. So I browsed through a few poems on the website and thought, “I can do that!” So I opened Microsoft Word and wrote my very first poem, called “Healed.”

It caused quite a stir, especially when poetry.com decided to send a copy of the poem to my house in the mail and my parents got it. The dark nature of the poem (which you’ll find in most of my poetry) concerned them a bit. But it didn’t matter…after that I was hooked. I wrote sometimes a poem a day, and that’s also what led me to start writing stories later that year.

I remember those days too! I’ve discovered many great literary websites since then (such as dVerse and Word Riot). What goal do you seek through your poetry?

Well, in general, to share my inner world with the outer world! Many of my poems tell stories of epic fantasy or science fiction, and have much the same goal as books I write; to help my readers fall in love with a great story. Other poems are a way of expressing emotions or ideas that people are afraid to talk to each other about because it might be unusual or seen as weird. Come on; even if you don’t talk about your moments of insanity…we all have them. Why not share? My published collection, Book of Dreams and Nightmares, is comprised of poems that describe extremely vivid and interesting dreams and nightmares I’ve had.

Please share your #1 tip for poets/writers:

Be patient. Unless you’re already a well known author with a big name, try going the traditional route before self-publishing. You don’t need to start making royalties tomorrow. Take the time to edit, re-edit and edit again. Then send it to some agents, see what they think. Contact some traditional publishers. Your work deserves all the time in the world if that’s what it takes to make it perfect.

Your websites/blogs/etc:

My author website: http://lisamtaylor.net

My book blog: http://www.writersparty.com

My facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/authorlisataylor

My twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/AuthorLMTaylor

* * * * *

Much thanks to Lisa for stopping by!

Lisa’s Bio:

Lisa graduated from West Point in May, 2010, with a degree in physics. Soon after, she was medically discharged from the U.S. Army, and following a short time at graduate school, she found her calling in an old passion; writing.

Lisa began writing poetry and stories when she was nine years old, and never quit. Her first publication was Book of Dreams and Nightmares, a horror poetry anthology that was published in December of 2010. In June 2011, Lisa’s debut novel The Hour of Tiamat, a paranormal fiction, was released for sale in print and ebook versions.

Currently Lisa is writing a Young Adult epic fantasy trilogy, which she is super excited about. She also works part time and the local library, and lives with her sister in Kentucky. Her website is http://lisamtaylor.net

About Jess C Scott

Author/Artist/Non-Conformist @ www.jessINK.com View all posts by Jess C Scott

2 responses to “Poet Interview, Lisa Taylor

You must be logged in to post a comment.

