Author Interview, Alistair Forrest

Standard

Author Interview #7, with Alistair Forrest!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Dashing, debonair, talented (a Leo!)

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

I knew from the look in his eyes that he wanted to kill me. That’s the opening sentence of my first novel, Libertas, inspiring (I think) the English Parliamentarian Sir Patrick Cormack to write for the cover blurb: “Forrest has the gift of the true story teller – the ability to engage his readers’ interest from the very first sentence.” He was my English teacher way back when. He didn’t like my essays on Macbeth — too descriptive, he said (rightly), so I gladly accept his praise now.

Share an excerpt of your favorite author’s work (10-100 words):

“Behold, thou art fair, my love; behold, thou art fair; thine eyes are as doves behind thy veil. Thy hair is as a flock of goats, that lie along the side of mount Gilead. Thy breasts are like two fawns, twins of a gazelle.” The author (of Song of Solomon) is unknown and not my favourite (sorry Jess, I cheated) but the reaction when I tried these words out was amazing — I love it when my wife laughs uncontrollably!

Comment on the writing versus publication process, in your experience:

Writing is heaven; finding a home with an agent or publisher is hell. I was lucky with my first novel as the publisher saw my work on the Internet. Right now, I can’t seem to find him so I’m looking for an agent for my second novel, Goliath, but I don’t believe agents read what you send them unless you’ve been referred. I hope I’m proved wrong. Do I sound negative? I don’t mean to be.

What is your definition of “good writing”?

I haven’t got one but I know when I’m reading good writing because I feel it.

Please share your #1 tip for writers:

Do what you love. Find someone else to do what you hate. Okay, I’m a hypocrite, but you know what I mean.

Your websites/blogs/etc:

http://www.alistairforrest.com

Thanks for inviting me here! (:

Most welcome (:!

Leave a Reply

