Poet Interview, Robert Lew

Standard

I’ve always liked poetry (“poet interviews” will be a new addition to this blog). Without further ado, here’s Mr. Robert Lew!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Artist, poet, vegetarian, spiritual seeker.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

shadows disappear – haiku

bright morning sunlight
clouds appear in the window…
shadows disappear

inner life – haiku

proximal worker
but a social outlier…
keeps an inner life

My poetry is focused entirely on haiku now. I use a strict 5-7-5 syllable structure which works well for me. The discipline keeps my creativity focused — important for me. I’ve been writing poetry all my life; and it was mostly free-form poems, until the last year.

Share an excerpt of your favorite poet’s work (10-100 words):

Don Van Vliet aka Captain Beefheart.

From Safe as Milk – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbzmKPXgtZI

Well my cigarette died when I washed my face
Dropped some drops in an ashtray hit a wrong place
Woman at my blinds to see spiders spinning lines
Its a safe as milk it’s a safe as milk
I never heard it put quite that way…

Sorrows lollipop lands stick-broken on a dark carnival ground
Pop up toaster cracklin
Aluminium rhythm and sound
Ev’ry day pencil lazy and sharp
The icebox inside looking like a harp
E-lectric bulb been out for years
Freezer fumes feed the gas tears
Cheese in the corner with a mile long beard
Bacon blue bread dog eared.

Did reading a poem first spark the desire to write poetry, or was it an experience?:

Hard to say, exactly. I had my Big Chief tablet and pencil when I was a little kid. My mother was an English professor, and she would say things — quotes from Emily Dickinson, Thoreau, Longfellow, Emerson, Whitman, etc. I don’t remember how it started. She loved words, and would use big ones. I was an “obstreperous” kid — how many parents tell their kids that? I think usually they just say, “Knock off the BS!”

What goal do you seek through your poetry?

My goal is to write poetry. That’s the #1 goal. No fits and starts. I’ve had that “issue” so many times. If I continue to write, and keep the brain and creative self engaged daily, then my “metagoal” of writing “great” poetry will happen. Of course “great” to me, means my unique voice. In the postmodern age, unique doesn’t really exist, I know. I’m the poet formerly known as me…yet, I also know that I am myself, with a unique voice to find, if not as some sort of unique “soul essence” then through the “process” of writing. But find it, I will. I’m a poet at heart, and no need to tell me noways no nothing otherwise! You can deconstruct till the cow signs and signifiers come home…LOL! :)

Please share your #1 tip for poets/writers:

I think I shared it from my little soapbox already. Just write. I’m almost certain I read the same in a Stephen King interview a long time ago. Just write every day. Don’t let the writer’s block stop you. I tell myself over and over, “I just want to see what’s around the next corner.” It’s like I’m on the writer’s road. Some of the time it might feel like the drive is not particularly scenic. But you never know what’s around the next bend if you stop the car and turn off the engine. You have to keep writing down the highway, lol! Sorry. I had to say it.

Your websites/blogs/etc:

existentialpoet.com
existentialpause.com
ahaikupoet.com
robertterrell.com

Leave a Reply

