Author Interview, Mike Fook

Standard

Author Interview #8, with Mike Fook!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Trying desperately to understand why.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

Sing
sing a new song
dried, paper mache flesh
tenting brittle bones
reveals such wrong

Billy’s ‘strange fruit’
of no consequence here
they trade leaves, bark, and salt
in hot greasy ports
oblivious, I suck down
mucusy black
truffles of sorts

Sing a new song
let snot run thick
over suncracked-lips
and fly larvae wiggle inside
where tapeworms do flips

Host more than parasites
fourish hell-children plead
their gel-ly yellow bellies
when brushed against
bleed

— Excerpt from a Mike Fook Poem – Sing a New Song, in its entirety @ (http://www.mikefook.com/poems/poem-sing-a-new-song/)

Share an excerpt of your favorite author’s work (10-100 words):

“Inside the foyer the darkness is almost absolute. A long stone staircase, the stair rail cold beneath our sliding hand, the steps scooped by the hundreds of years of footfalls, uneven beneath our feet as we climb toward the music.

The tall double doors of the main salon would squeak and howl if we had to open them. For you, they are open. The music comes from the far, far corner, and from the corner comes the only light, light of many candles pouring reddish through the small door of a chapel off the corner of the room.
Cross to the music. We are dimly aware of passing large groups of draped furniture, vague shapes not quite still in the candlelight,
like a sleeping herd. Above us the height of the room disappears into darkness.

The light glows redly on an ornate clavier, and on the man known to Renaissance scholars as Dr. Fell, the doctor elegant, straight-backed as he leans into the music, the light reflecting off his hair and the back of his quilted silk dressing gown with a sheen like pelt.”

— Excerpt from Hannibal, by Thomas Harris.

Comment on the writing versus publication process, in your experience:

I write. I publish. Repeat. Publishing on paper, unless I’m going to change the planet with the book, isn’t a goal any longer. Putting my work in the hands of someone else isn’t something I relish. I enjoy publishing digitally and managing all of it myself. I prefer to know who my readers are, where they are, what they liked and didn’t like, and what they might buy in the future.

What is your definition of “good writing”?

When I don’t realize I’m reading. It happens often as I read Hannibal, by Thomas Harris. I open to any page and begin my lesson. I want to see how he’s composing sentences, how he builds characters, the scenes…

Before two minutes pass, I’m vacuum-sucked into it and I’m not reading any more… it’s me. I’m there living it. This happens without fail. That book is scary good writing!

Please share your #1 tip for writers:

Write your ass numb.

Your websites/blogs/etc:

MikeFook.com
ThailandeBooks.com
ThaiPulse.com/blog/
AimforAwesome.com
IncAnswers.com
Jhana8.com

Thanks Jess!

Most welcome :)

One thought on “Author Interview, Mike Fook

Leave a Reply

