Author Interview, Zoe Winters

Standard

Author Interview #10, with quirky paranormal romance author, Zoe Winters!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

ZW: Wow, I can’t do anything in 5 words. I’m assuming 5 adjectives?

loud-mouthed | defiant | silly | neurotic | word-addict

(Watch as I hyphenate to get more words in.)

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

“It’s all about the Blood . . . ”

Blood Lust is a series of three paranormal romance novellas —

Kept: Greta, a werecat on the run from her tribe, seeks the help of a dangerous sorcerer who needs her blood.

Claimed: Anthony is a vampire who almost kills the woman he loves with a bite, then accidentally gives her amnesia in the memory wipe.

Mated: Jane is given to the werewolf alpha to satisfy a gambling debt. The vampire blood running through her veins could change her fate.

Short excerpt from Mated:

“You know what she is, right? You can feel it?”

The other vampire nodded. “Kindred, but . . . not. She’s human, but she feels like vampire.”

Paul snorted. “She’s an insult is what she is.”

“But she’s different. You have a commodity here. Something unique you could sell if you had a better business head on ya.”

Jane stared at the cards in Paul’s hand, avoiding looking at the vampire with the entrepreneurial ambitions. She wouldn’t cry. She wouldn’t scream. She wouldn’t give them anything that would make them want to come back and get more.

Share an excerpt of your favorite author’s work (10-100 words):

ZW: I don’t really have a favorite author, I read too many different things for that, but one of my favorite books is “A Hunger Like No Other” by Kresley Cole. This little section is so wrong, but oh so right:

Against her mouth, he growled, “Kiss me back, witch, while I decide if I should spare your life.”

With a cry, she moved her lips against his. When he stilled completely as if to force her to do all the work, she slanted her head and brushed his lips lightly again.

“Kiss me like you want to live.”

Comment on the writing versus publication process, in your experience:

ZW: Writing is about creation. Publishing is about business. Although, as an indie author, there is an extra level of creativity entwined in the publishing process. i.e. I get to decide about cover art, whether I’ll design it myself or hire out. And I get final approval. I get to choose my editing team. I get to decide how the interior layout is going to look, which is a creative process as well. But for indies it all kind of melds together as you go from the writing to rewriting to packaging then distributing and marketing. It’s hard to break it up into two totally separate processes.

What is your definition of “good writing”?

ZW: Good writing is anything that holds my attention. (It goes without saying that there shouldn’t be a lot of editing errors, though I just said it.) Great writing is writing I miss sleep, showers, and food for.

Please share your #1 tip for writers:

ZW: Don’t join a creative writing program. It will kill your voice. Just write and read and write and read. Lather, rinse, repeat until insane or a good writer.

Your websites/blogs/etc:

Read Kept, the first novella in Blood Lust, free from my site:

http://www.zoewinters.org
http://zoewinters.wordpress.com
http://www.theriantype.com (fictional company that ties into my series.)

Kept cracked the Kindle Top #500 in the past week! Claimed is now available, and Mated will be out next week. Blood Lust (the set) will be available in print and E in July.

One thought on “Author Interview, Zoe Winters

Leave a Reply

