Writing Quotes

Standard

I can spend a lot of time reading & re-reading these favourites. I guess this page will be for quick reference.

* I’ve some quotes from my books here — for the people who locate my website by Googling “quotes by Jess C Scott.”

* Shout-out to “Billy (Age 4) and the Kids” (re: a love quotation).

~

14 Oct 07: Bad artists copy; good artists steal. ~ Pablo Picasso

8 Dec 07: There is an eloquence in true enthusiasm. ~ Edgar Allan Poe

11 Dec 07: I’m puzzled, I’m melancholy, I don’t know what to do with myself; I wish I weren’t alone! ~ Chopin’s notebook, Spring 1831

25 Dec 07: Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former. ~ Albert Einstein

25 Dec 07: It gives me great pleasure indeed to see the stubbornness of an incorrigible nonconformist warmly acclaimed. ~ Albert Einstein

~

30 Jan 08: I couldn’t help it. I can resist everything except temptation. ~ Oscar Wilde

13 Feb 08: A writer should have the precision of a poet and the imagination of a scientist. ~ Vladimir Nabokov

14 Feb 08: You have no conception of the quantity of miserable feeling that passes through me in a day. ~ John Keats

10 Mar 08: EGOTIST, n. — A person of low taste, more interested in himself than in me. ~ Ambrose Bierce

16 Nov 08: Be a good animal. Be true to your animal instincts. ~ D. H. Lawrence

~

1 Jan 09: Pursue some path, however narrow and crooked, in which you can walk with love and reverence. ~ Henry David Thoreau

1 Feb 09: There is more to life than to increase its speed. ~ Mahatma Gandhi

12 Jun 09: Quality, quality, quality: never waver from it, even when you don’t see how you can afford to keep it up. When you compromise, you become a commodity and then you die. ~ Gary Hirshberg, founder, Stonyfield Farm Yogurt

9 Jul 09: Do it big or stay in bed. ~ Larry Kelly

29 Aug 09: My aim is to put down on paper what I see and what I feel in the best and simplest way. ~ Ernest Hemingway

06 Sept 09: “The one on my board right now.” ~ What Frank Lloyd Wright said when asked which of his buildings was the most beautiful

14 Dec 09: It’s not about the fall, it’s about how high you bounce right back up. ~ Beyoncé (Larry King Live)

Dec 2009:  just found out i have a 21 y/o brother. deadbeat dad!! — Dec 09, on #omgfacts

~

11 Jan 10: Endless Effort, Endless Endurance, Endless Modesty. ~ Bi Rain

5 Apr 10: Infirm of purpose! Give me the daggers. ~ Lady Macbeth

6 Apr 10: I don’t regret for a single moment having lived for pleasure. I did it to the full, as one should do everything that one does. There was no pleasure I did not experience. I threw the pearl of my soul into a cup of wine. I went down the primrose path to the sound of flutes. I lived on honeycomb. ~ Oscar Wilde’s De Profundis

12 Apr 10: It is into “the gall of his envy” which Claggart infuses “the vitriol of his contempt…for the sly escape of a spontaneous feeling on Billy’s part…answering to the antipathy of his own.” ~ Herman Melville’s (oh yeah!) Billy Budd

27 Jul 10: “I criticize by creation, not by finding fault.” ~ [Marcus Tullius Cicero (Ancient Roman Lawyer, Writer, Scholar, Orator and Statesman, 106 BC-43 BC)]

27 Jul 10: “Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected.” ~ Steve Jobs

15 Oct 10: “The only way to get massive success is by taking massive action on a consistent basis.” ~ Weston Lyon

15 Oct 10: “A narcissist does not hear the naysayers. At the Trump Organization, I listen to people, but my vision is my vision.” ~ Donald Trump

15 Oct 10: “Naysayers rarely contribute much, and they usually don’t amount to much. Don’t find a fault, find a remedy.” ~ Henry Ford

3 Nov 2010: “I’m driven, I know what I like and I don’t care what others think.” ~ Kat Von D

~

27 May 2011: “The ultimate result of shielding men from the effects of folly, is to fill the world with fools.” ~ Herbert Spencer

30 May 2011: “Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” ~ Mahatma Gandhi

30 June 2011: “Don’t allow someone to be your priority while allowing yourself to be their option.” ~ may this ever be etched on every self-respecting person’s mind.

12 July 2011: “The miracle is not to fly in the air, or to walk on the water, but to walk on the earth.” ~ Chinese Proverb

13 July 2011: “Fashion can be bought. Style one must possess.” ~ Edna Woolman Chase (editor-in-chief of Vogue magazine from 1914-1952)

9 Sept 2011: “Hollywood money isn’t money. It’s congealed snow, melts in your hand, and there you are.” ~ Dorothy Parker

~

24 June 2012: “When I chased after money, I never had enough. When I got my life on purpose and focused on giving of myself and everything that arrived into my life, then I was prosperous.” ~ Wayne Dyer

25 June 2012: “A nation that continues year after year to spend more money on military defense than on programs of social uplift is approaching spiritual doom.” ~ Martin Luther King, Jr.

~

2013:

13 March 2013: “Now you can kick that f***ing door down + say what you have to say.” ~ Jared Leto / 3oSecondsToMars (on artists’ ability to use new technology to get the word out)

And too many to list :P

Some great places to search for quotes:

Brainy Quote

Spiritual Blog (Sri Chinmoy)

Forbes: Top 32 Quotes Every Entrepreneur Should Live By

Thoughts on Success: Thoughts and Reflections From History’s Great Thinkers (Forbes Leadership Library)

Inspirational Quotes (FB Page, with great visual graphics)

2 thoughts on “Writing Quotes

Leave a Reply

