Poet Interview, Shamsud Ahmed

Interview #48, with Indian poet, Shamsud Ahmed!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Someone who tries very hard.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

mystic_verse

This is from my Kindle Book – Absquatulate and one of the reviewers liked these lines from one of my poems:

A fancy has no boundary;
Should I sneak into your heart?
And write my name with light;
Should I seal it before the day break?
I don’t want to get late,
Should it take its own course instead?

Share an excerpt of your favorite poet’s work (10-100 words):

Honestly, it is a very difficult question. I would however like to quote something I feel we all should keep in mind–

The Poem: Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening, by Robert Frost

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Did reading a poem first spark the desire to write poetry, or was it an experience?:

I started writing at a very young age, first for the school journal and later for my college. I slowly graduated to contributing my work to local journals and newspaper. I published my first book last year and from there on I continued to work on more book and have published 3 more since then. Recently I have also started working on few scripts for a Television Thriller for one of my dear friends.

I am in the process of creating a new book (a compilation made up of submissions from various bloggers around the world). The book will be published next month and I’m more than happy to accept good contributions.

Cool! What goal do you seek through your poetry?

My ultimate objective is to bring Poetry to the Masses; to continue to innovate and improve my work. The primitive languages of human beings were poetic. I feel we all have a certain rhythm inside us, and that Poetry is all about Rhythm of Words.

Excellent. Please share your #1 tip for poets/writers:

Read, Read and Read.

Write, Write and Write.

It doesn’t matter if things go wrong but never give up. You write many [words] to ensure that the few you have selected are the best. Never fear failure.

Even more excellent. Your websites/blogs/etc:

http://iamdirtyineedwashing.blogspot.in

Join me at facebook.com/mysticeverse or write to me at shamsud.ahmedATgmailDOTcom

Cheers and Keep Winning,

Shamsud Ahmed

* * * * *

Much thanks to Shamsud for stopping by! Be sure to check out his blog for more excerpts of his poetry [along with my recent interview with Shamsud on haiku ;)].

About Jess C Scott

Author/Artist/Non-Conformist @ www.jessINK.com View all posts by Jess C Scott

You must be logged in to post a comment.

