Poet Interview, Chris Gilmore

Standard

Interview #49, with poet, Chris Gilmore!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Kind, Caring, Naive, Shy, Warm.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

chris_gilmore

Trouble Sleeping

Trouble sleeping
Dreaming about you
Torn between wishing for reality and hoping the next dream is true,
I imagine being Clark Kent to your Lois Lane
But Spiderman beats Peter Parker when it comes to Mary Jane,
You ask me to change, to be perfect, but that’s not me
Now I’ve realized that you and I are just not meant to be
All this time I thought together was right,
But now, there’s nothing left to say except…
Goodnight

Share an excerpt of your favorite poet’s work (10-100 words):

Dreams by Langston Hughes

Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird
That cannot fly.

Hold fast to dreams
For when dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.

Did reading a poem first spark the desire to write poetry, or was it an experience?:

I have a hard time expressing myself to others and a particular experience led me to start writing as a way to get my feelings out.

What goal do you seek through your poetry?

I would like to just get my work out there for others to enjoy.

Please share your #1 tip for poets/writers:

Never second-guess yourself. If it feels right it usually is.

Very good :) Your websites/blogs/etc:

N/A at the moment, though my book, What Makes Me, Me? is available on Amazon.

* * * * *

Much thanks to Chris for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

