Author Interview, Intense Restraint

Standard

Interview #62, with the inquisitive/married/middle-aged author of Intense Restraint!

anonymous

[Image from Scribido Magazine]

There’s a recently-published crime drama / psychological thriller titled Intense Restraint, a book that’s published anonymously. Read till the end to see why the author would like to remain “Anonymous” ;)

* * *

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Quiet, industrious, married, middle-aged, inquisitive.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

Intense Restraint

Excerpt (from Intense Restraint): “I awoke in a dark room and in an unfamiliar bed. My wrists were handcuffed and my ankles were in leg irons. My heart began beating in rapid spurts, and adrenaline surged through my system as I tested my restraints and discovered they held me securely. The only light was emitted by a radio alarm clock. The time was 2 p.m. I had been asleep for a long time.”

Blurb: Steven’s hiking trip turns into a disaster when he is abducted by a grief-stricken amateur boxer whose mind has temporarily lost its grip on reality. Steven endures a horrifying ordeal as he simultaneously plans his escape and attempts to help his abductor find his way back to normalcy.

Share an excerpt of your favorite author’s work (10-100 words):

Fyodor Dostoevsky: “Man is fond of counting his troubles, but he does not count his joys. If he counted them up as he ought to, he would see that every lot has enough happiness provided for it.”

I just chanced upon that quote the other day ;)! Comment on the writing versus publication process, in your experience:

I’m very glad for websites where authors can review each other’s work and provide helpful comments. The one I used is TheNextBigWriter.com. I received lots of good advice on each chapter. The publication process was easy for me. I published the book via CreateSpace.com, a subsidiary of Amazon.com. I used their online tools for preparing the book for publication, including cover design. I was surprised and pleased to learn that the cost of publication in this manner is extremely low. Once the book was approved for publication by CreateSpace, I was able to do the additional work to make it available for the Kindle Reader. The book is also available on Amazon as a paperback.

What is your definition of “good writing”?

Good writing affects us profoundly, changes us, enlightens us, helps us live more noble lives.

Agreed. Please share your #1 tip for writers:

When I finish a chapter and need to take a break from sitting in front of the computer, I like to go on long walks and reflect on the plot and the characters, the latest developments in the story and the implications of those developments. As I walk along very often I get insights into what should happen next — what conversations should occur, what events will propel the story along. So, my tip is to try this technique of going on long walks.

Oh yes, they’re a good antidote to writer’s block! Your websites/blogs/etc:

Intense Restraint on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Intense-Restraint-ebook/dp/B00865T4JE/

I wrote my book as an anonymous author. I’m not ready for my co-workers to know that I wrote a book about a young man being abducted by another man! So, I don’t have a website that publicizes my writing.

Maybe I will create one sometime in the future…

* * * * *

Much thanks to the author of Intense Restraint for stopping by! You may check out Intense Restraint on Amazon :)

Leave a Reply

