Astrology 101

Standard

astrology-chart

Astrology Chart image from LifeMusicFun.com

* * *

It was mid-2006 when I discovered my Moon sign.

I was born in September, under the Sun sign of Virgo. While I did (and do) identify with several traits associated with this sign, I couldn’t help but feel that I identified with many of the other Zodiac signs too when I read about them. Signs like Pisces and Scorpio, for instance.

I was intrigued when I found out my Moon sign was in Pisces. That was the beginning of my enthusiastic interest in the subject of astrology (beyond the Sun sign).

Our Sun sign represents what our ego/personality aspires to be. Our Moon sign represents our emotional nature. This made perfect sense to me — Virgo and Pisces are opposite signs too. That was the first thing which explained to me why I felt like a nutcase most of the time throughout my teenage years (I’d always be seeking a “balance amidst extremities”). Additionally, I found out that my Venus (love sign) was in Scorpio, which adds an extra layer of depth/intensity to my experiences.

I’ve found astrology to be exceptionally helpful in terms of understanding myself and “organizing” my own personality. While it’s best not to reach the extent where you allow astrology to control you (right down to what you’re going to think/say/do EVERY single minute of the day), it can be a big help in helping enhance self-knowledge, which will also tend to have a positive influence on the other human relationships in your life.

I’ve listed a few websites below where a beginner can get more information on basic astrology.

For greater accuracy, you will need your exact birth time (hour, minute, birth location).

1. Lunarium | Moon Sign Calculator (it all starts from here!)

2. Cafe Astrology (free birth chart and lots of information)

3. Astrodienst (excellent website)

I’ve also included a quick run-down on what each planet in our chart represents (referenced from Cafe Astrology).

Sun: Represents our ego, personality, basic identity.

Moon: Represents our deepest personal needs, basic habits and reactions, and our unconscious.

Mercury: Represents how we think and how we communicate.

Venus: Represents our love style, and pleasure/what makes us happy.

Mars: Represents energy, drive, action, desire, self-assertion.

Jupiter: Represents luck, opportunity, expansiveness. Optimism and spiritual growth come under its rule.

Saturn: Represents restriction, limitations, responsibilities, commitments, and tough lessons to be learned (lessons which make/help us grow).

Uranus: Represents originality, individuality, technology, innovation, discovery.

Neptune: Represents inspiration, dreams, imagination, illusion, and confusion.

Pluto: Represents subconscious forces, ruling all that is “below the surface.”

Knowing your planetary placements (other than your Sun sign) is a great way to start off with basic extended astrology. That’s how it worked for me at least :)

In my own astrological chart, I have a Virgo Sun, Pisces Moon, Libra Mercury, Scorpio Venus, and Capricorn Mars. You can have a rough idea as to how these would make me quite different from a typical strongly Virgo type.

In a future post, I’ll write about how houses and aspects come into the picture re: reading an astrological chart.

That’ll help you understand what phrases like “Venus conjunct Pluto in Scorpio 8th House” mean (that is one of my “very intense” placements).

* * *

By: Jess C Scott
www.jessINK.com

Originally posted at:
www.broodsugar.com/astrology

* * *

3 thoughts on “Astrology 101

Leave a Reply

