Author Interview, Nathan Daniels

Standard

Interview #71, with writer/survivor, Nathan Daniels!

Describe yourself in 5 words:

Understanding, Respectful, Honest, Strong, Loving.

Share a short excerpt and blurb of your work (10-100 words):

fourth

EXCERPT FROM SURVIVING THE FOURTH CYCLE – CHAPTER 32:

“I would fill my torso with long, dripping, lacerations by the dozens. Often, I’d do this while watching the disturbing reflection in my bathroom mirror. I remember Hailey sliding her hand up the front of my shirt one night; only to gasp… shut her eyes… and whisper:

“What did you do?”

On that particular occasion, I had cut myself twenty-eight times. Twice across the throat, and I was aware of myself doing it, even if it was a distant awareness.”

Share an excerpt of your favorite author’s work (10-100 words):

EXCERPT FROM STEPHEN KING’S ON WRITING: A MEMOIR OF THE CRAFT:

“Writing fiction, especially a long work of fiction, can be a difficult, lonely job; it’s like crossing the Atlantic Ocean in a bathtub. There’s plenty of opportunity for self-doubt.”

Comment on the writing versus publication process, in your experience:

For me, the writing comes very natural. I’ve been doing it most of my life and it’s a great creative outlet, as well as being an excellent form of therapy. The entire publication process is new to me, and understanding all the aspects is a challenge, but I enjoy learning more every day.

What is your definition of “good writing”?

Be it a textbook, memoir, or work of fiction the reader should never have to “push” their way through the text. Instead, you should feel “pulled” along by the words on the page.

Please share your #1 tip for writers:

Read something and write something EVERY day!

Your websites/blogs/etc:

You can visit me at… http://survivingthefourthcycle.com/index.html
Be my friend on Facebook… http://www.facebook.com/Nathan.daniels.56863
Follow me on Twitter… https://twitter.com/NathanDaniels75

* * * * *

Much thanks to Nathan Daniels for stopping by — do visit Nathan’s Website for more info on him and his projects!

NATHAN’S BIO (in his own words):

My name is Nathan Daniels and I’m a dedicated father, stepfather, partner, and mental health awareness advocate. I’m also a male survivor of childhood sexual abuse, I have recently overcome a twenty-year battle with suicide, and I currently live with psychological disorders like… Agoraphobia, Social Anxiety, PTSD, Borderline Personality Disorder, OCD, and Depression.

I have a website dedicated to my experience with these widely misunderstood issues, and I want to share my story with as many people as possible and do my part in raising awareness as well as reducing the stigma associated with these ailments.

My website has 5 pages where you’ll find articles, interviews, photos, videos, quizzes, movies, poetry, books, blogs, and other websites devoted to mental health in general. I would absolutely love it, if you would just check it out… and perhaps pass it along.

Thank you so much :)

P.S. Check out Nathan’s guest post here! (June 2013: Flashback to Abuse)

* * * * *

One thought on “Author Interview, Nathan Daniels

Leave a Reply

