Note to Billy (Age 4) and Kids

Standard

intern_quote

I featured this quotation in the first edition of 1: The Intern, the first book in a YA “seven deadly sins” series.

“When someone loves you, the way they say your name is different. You know that your name is safe in their mouth.”

It appears in Chapter 13 and is mentioned in conversation by a young girl who appears in just one scene.

Originally, this was a stolen/borrowed quote from an old Internet meme on love quotes by kids.

It was attributed to “Billy — age 4.”

I have since updated the quote so that the text is paraphrased. I also included an attribution to “Billy (age 4)” in the copyright page of my book as that is the right thing to do.

Kids can often be smarter and more perceptive (in their own way) than adults. “Billy” said it way more succinctly than I ever could have, at any age I ever was.

I’ve been thinking of “Billy” on and off since I first absorbed the wisdom of that quote. Who was he? Where was he from? What did he look like?

I ended up writing about a small boy named Billy in Book #1 of The Wilde Trilogy, my first psych thriller series.

I am dedicating that first psych thriller project to:

“Billy (age 4) and The Kids.

Because every child should grow up in a healthy home environment.”

+ + +

More Info on The Internhttp://www.jessINK.com/sins07_lust.htm

More Info on The Wilde Trilogyhttp://www.jessINK.com/wilde.htm

+ + +

One thought on “Note to Billy (Age 4) and Kids

Leave a Reply

