Amos Yee on Vincent Law being “Immensely Creepy”

amosyee_vincentlaw
Standard

Note to Reader: “Make your own conclusion.”

(Paraphrased from Amos’ Facebook description: “I don’t need a description, check out my content and form your own.”)

13 May 2015: STATEMENT BY AMOS YEE ON VINCENT LAW

“[My former bailor] Vincent Law didn’t really molest me, haha,” Amos wrote. “Though he is immensely creepy. I’ll save the specific details for another time.”

Source: Straits Times

Source: Amos Yee (Facebook)

15 May 2015: AMOS YEE’S BLOG POST — CLEAN / SUMMARISED VERSION

1) Although Vincent didn’t sodomize me physically, he did violate me emotionally.

2) About 2 days before the court date, a lad by the name of Jolovan, whom my mom and I had met in a little activist get-together, came along and said that there were 3 people who were willing to be my bailors, and he would pick the best one to do so.

3) After I was released at the bail center, I immediately had dinner with Jolovan and he shared with me the reason why he chose this stranger [Vincent Law] to be my bailor. He gave several reasons like the fact that he was a) mostly unknown, comparatively to other people; b) his reputation was least likely to be stained if he were to be associated with me; c) he wasn’t political, so people would not accuse me of collaborating with a political party to further their political goals (which really isn’t necessarily a bad thing).

4) Once I went out of the bail center, I saw my family, Vincent and some other friends. The first thing that Vincent said to me was: “Hello, I am Vincent your bailor. I think the first thing you should know about me is that I’m a Christian.”

5) The first few minutes that I talked to him, he seemed like a relatively harmless person, serviceable, but bland, nothing particularly special about him, no truly interesting or provocative views or delivery, been there done that. But as we went along, Vincent then decided to discuss with about religion. And from there the meat-headed conservatism commonly upheld by fundamentalist Christians, soon emerged.

6) I responded with the usual Atheist arguments of there’s absolutely no evidence at all that Jesus existed, [you know] the common, simple basic refutations of religion. Then [Vincent] just sat there, face stern, chest upwards, with the air of a hot-headed bull, and said to me:

“Oh well since I’m a Christian,and you don’t like religion, then I guess you don’t like me, so maybe I should just discharge myself as your bailor!”

Wow…WTF? That seemed a little uncalled for. What’s up with the threat?

7) So I calmed him down and said it’s all cool — just because someone disagrees with a person’s views, doesn’t mean that they think the person is bad, nor does it mean you have to hate him for it. So he became calm and cool and we continued a peaceful conversation, we met the lawyers, had lunch and then I left for home. But needless to say, I already did not like him.

8) Whenever I expressed further displeasure and reluctance on meeting him every day, he would then, once again, threaten to discharge himself as my bailor.

9) Another instance, Vincent even started whining to me in a shrieking voice and said, “You know how many hate messages I have gotten once I became your bailor! You know how many people have criticized me on Facebook? You better appreciate what I’m doing for you!”

Buddy, you’re the one who went up and said you wanted to be my bailor, now that it’s not going favorably for you, that’s your problem not mine, I’m not going to be sympathetic to any of your whining. Appreciation is earned, not demanded.

10) I continued to engage in theological debates with him, and blatantly revealed the falsehood of every one of his supposedly Christian tenets. The aspect of the bible that we argued the most about was the infamous bear story, where God chose to summon a bear to maul a group of boys after they made fun of a bald priest.

The verse was from 2 Kings 2:23:

‘Some boys came out of the town and jeered at him. “Get out of here, baldy!” they said. “Get out of here, baldy!” He turned around, looked at them and called down a curse on them in the name of the LORD. Then two bears came out of the woods and mauled forty-two of the boys.’

I of course said that this was quite evident that God was a mass murderer. And [Vincent] refuted that claim, and it really provided me further insight to the extent of just how delusional a religious person can be.

12) Vincent’s mistreatment and intimidation towards me, is deemed as a ‘counselling technique.’ If this is truly one of Vincent’s techniques he uses as a Youth Counsellor, then you can see why I would feel absolutely no remorse if he loses his job.

13) Even though he didn’t molest me, seeing what he said and the ‘counselling techniques’ he used on me, I think it would be wise for parents to not hire Vincent for their children. Unless you feel that emotional torment is helpful to your child emotional state, though the view of which is unsurprising since that would be the mentality that you hold when you decide to put your children in schools.

14) First the Government, then my father, and then Vincent, I’m really always getting incessantly victimized aren’t I?

15) I’m never affected by the response of stupid people because you should never be intimidated and stop doing what you love, just because many people are against you, especially when those people are idiots.

16) Right now Vincent is hogging my mother, demanding that I issue a public apology to him and his family, otherwise he would get a lawyer to sue me. I think that’s pretty clear enough evidence that Vincent Law is [a] hypocrite and he is a fraud.

He’s standing up for me, he’s fighting for freedom of speech, he’s fighting against the laws that claims that even if somebody lies, mocks or offends a person or large amounts of people, it should not be deemed as a criminal offense.

But now, when the cause that he so boldly advocated, is used unfavorably towards him, he is now threatening to use those exact same laws that he went against, to sue me. And yet you all claim that his intentions were genuine. But let me tell you Vincent, if you do indeed sue me for defamation, then I’ll sue you for emotional abuse of a child. And seeing how I’m already baselessly deemed as a mentally disturbed teenager, I think the judge will look very favorably to my case.

17) Unbeknownst to me initially, my mother revealed that there is in fact a 2nd definition of the word ‘molest’. With reference to thefreedictionary.com:

mo·lest (mə-lĕst′) tr.v. mo·lest·ed, mo·lest·ing, mo·lests

1. To disturb, interfere with, or annoy

After you’ve read this tale you would know that Vincent did in fact disturb and annoy me. So technically, Vincent didn’t molest me, but yet he did. The beauty of contrarieties in life.

18) Revenge is indeed a dish best served cold. And after my little accusation of molest, all is well and good. It was an ingredient to effectively troll the media (i.e. to make a deliberately offensive or provocative online posting with the aim of upsetting someone or eliciting an angry response from them), I managed to publicly humiliate Vincent, and after this incident he has decided to wash his hands off me and that means, I will never see or talk to him again.

19) My fellow friends, this is what happens when you get a Christian as a bailor.

Source: https://amosyee.wordpress.com/2015/05/15/the-molestation-of-vincent-law

16 May 2015: MY COMMENTS

What Amos did may have been irresponsible from a certain angle. Based on this version of events, it is equally irresponsible for a youth counsellor to make use of a case or situation as an opportunity to evangelize (i.e. convert a non-Christian to Christianity).

Amos has a reasoning capability that is above average, which is especially notable when one takes into context his young age (16 years old).

The intersection of religion, responsibility and freedom of speech, brings to mind the following quote:

“I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.”
Evelyn Beatrice Hall (1868)

UPDATE (18 May): Words of Advice from An Older Reader (re: Amos’s style)

Amos Yee should curb his inordinate exuberance if he wants to continue to have public sympathy and support.”
(sent via email)

UPDATE (27 May): Singapore prosecutors demand that a rebellious teenager be sent to a reformatory after re-posting anti-LKY video (MSN).

“The vindictive PAP is out again to punish Amos. Can’t they be rational and more humane? What kind of laws we have and what kind of petty PM to take revenge on a 16 year old kid? Really disgraceful.”
(CWW / FB)

UPDATE (27 May): Photos posted by Riz Ras and Chris Ho

amosyee_sg

amosyee_banana

“Cut from the same punk cloth, I dare say!”
(Chris Ho | Pic of Amos Yee beside Vivienne Westwood)

UPDATE (2 June): “Dared to Dance on LKY’s Grave”

“Let’s not kid ourselves. Amos Yee is in trouble not because he offended or injured Christians. He is in trouble because he dared to dance on LKY’s grave.

Under the guise of offending a religion, the courts have made him a victim of political persecution, undertaken to mend broken egos and to silence political dissent, particularly of LKY and his legacy.”
(Martyn See / FB)

One thought on “Amos Yee on Vincent Law being “Immensely Creepy”

Leave a Reply

